Parasite Stuns The Oscar With Game -Changing Best Film Win Over 1917


On a drizzly Sunday in Los Angeles, Parasite claimed four wins at the 92nd Academy Awards, including best picture, director Bong Joon Ho, international feature film and original screenplay. 1917 nabbed three wins, for visual effects, cinematography and sound mixing.

Another three films have earned two honors each. Joker won in the acting category for Joaquin Phoenix and for original score. Once Upon a Time in Hollywood won for Brad Pitt in the supporting actor category and for production design. Ford v Ferrari won for film editing and sound editing.

Renée Zellweger claimed the best actress win for Judy, Laura Dern earned a win for Marriage Story in the supporting actress category, while Taika Waititi claimed the adapted screenplay honor for JoJo Rabbit.

Toy Story 4 nabbed the animated feature prize, while Rocketman won for original song. The full list of Oscar winners is below:

Motion Picture
Parasite (Neon), Kwak Sin-ae and Bong Joon Ho, producers (WINNER)
Ford v Ferrari (Fox), Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping and James Mangold, producers
The Irishman (Netflix), Martin Scorsese, Robert De Niro, Jane Rosenthal and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, producers
Jojo Rabbit (Fox Searchlight), Carthew Neal and Taika Waititi, producers
Joker (Warner Bros.), Todd Phillips, Bradley Cooper and Emma Tillinger Koskoff, producers
Little Women (Sony), Amy Pascal, producer
Marriage Story (Netflix), Noah Baumbach and David Heyman, producers
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (Sony), David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh and Quentin Tarantino, producers
1917 (Universal), Sam Mendes, Pippa Harris, Jayne-Ann Tenggren and Callum McDougall, producers

Bong Joon Ho, Parasite (WINNER)
Sam Mendes, 1917
Todd Phillips, Joker
Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Renée Zellweger, Judy (WINNER)
Cynthia Erivo, Harriet
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
Charlize Theron, Bombshell

Joaquin Phoenix, Joker (WINNER)
Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Actress in a Supporting Role
Laura Dern, Marriage Story (WINNER)
Kathy Bates, Richard Jewell
Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh, Little Women
Margot Robbie, Bombshell

Actor in a Supporting Role
Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (WINNER)
Al Pacino, The Irishman
Joe Pesci, The Irishman
Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes

Original Screenplay
Parasite, Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin-won (WINNER)
1917, Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Knives Out, Rian Johnson
Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino

Adapted Screenplay
Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi (WINNER)
The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
Joker, Todd Phillips and Scott Silver
Little Women, Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes, Anthony McCarten

1917, Roger Deakins (WINNER)
The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto
Joker, Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Robert Richardson

International Feature
Parasite (South Korea) (WINNER)
Corpus Christi (Poland)
Honeyland (North Macedonia)
Les Misérables (France)
Pain and Glory (Spain)

Film Editing
Ford v Ferrari, Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker (WINNER)
The Irishman, Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagles
Joker, Jeff Groth
Parasite, Yang Jinmo

Production Design
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, production design: Barbara Ling; set decoration: Nancy Haigh (WINNER)
The Irishman, production design: Bob Shaw; set decoration: Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit, production design: Ra Vincent; set decoration: Nora Sopková
1917, production design: Dennis Gassner; set decoration: Lee Sandales
Parasite, production design: Lee Ha-jun; set decoration: Cho Won-woo


About Author

Leave A Reply